DWI Penalties

Driving while impaired (DWI) is a crime that is harshly prosecuted and penalized in North Carolina. If you, a friend or family member has been arrested for drunk driving, get legal help as soon as possible.

William G. Causey Jr. is a North Carolina State Bar board-certified criminal defense attorney. He can help you identify all of your legal options if you have been charged with drunk driving. However, the earlier you call him, the more legal options that you may have.

Free consultation: To reach our law office in Greensboro, North Carolina, call 336-885-2600 or by cellphone at 336-471-0819.

Penalties For DWI In North Carolina

There are five different levels of DWI in North Carolina. Level 5 is the least serious, level 1 is the most serious. The level of DWI that you face is dependent on your BAC level, driving record and other factors.

  • Level 5 DWI penalties:
    • License suspension for 1 year
    • Fines of up to $200
    • Jail time: Between 24 hours and 60 days
  • Level 4 DWI penalties:
    • License suspension for 1 year
    • Fines of up to $500
    • Jail time: Between 48 hours and 120 days
  • Level 3 DWI penalties:
    • License suspension for 1 year
    • Fines of up to $1,000
    • Jail time: Between 72 hours and 6 months
  • Level 2 DWI penalties:
    • License suspension for a period of 1 year, with the possibility of permanent revocation
    • Fines of up to $2,000
    • Jail time: Between 7 days and 12 months
  • Level 1 DWI penalties:
    • License suspension for a period of 1 year, with the possibility of permanent revocation
    • Fines of up to $4,000
    • Jail time: Between 30 days and 24 months

If the offender is placed on probation, he or she may be required to complete a substance abuse assessment. Additionally, a judge may order community service in addition to a jail sentence.

If you refuse to take a chemical test during your traffic stop, you face driver's license suspension for a period of 30 days. This takes effect immediately.

In addition to criminal penalties, a DWI conviction can cause an increase in car insurance rates, require substance abuse treatment, and result in additional fees and fines.

You cannot afford not to talk to a criminal defense lawyer after being charged with DWI. The stakes are too high to leave your future to chance. Get help from an attorney as soon as possible.

Passenger Under The Age Of 18

North Carolina laws in regard to DWI penalties have recently changed. Now there is a mandatory 30-day jail sentence for anyone who is convicted of DWI while transporting a passenger who is under the age of 18.

Charged With DWI? Do Not Wait Another Minute. Contact Us Today.

To schedule a consultation to discuss your options, please call us at 336-885-2600 or by cellphone at 336-471-0819.

•Rewrite the following metas:

Home

Site map

William G. Causey Jr

Privacy policy

Attorney profile

• Change geographical focus: By changing the geographical focus on your site and including more references to Greensboro, we can work to better target potential clients and improve traffic.

Add instances of Greensboro to the content. Sprinkle throughout the website

• Add two new pages to your site: Please choose two from this list:

(DWI & Speeding tickets)

Topic (What): Update linking strategy

• Recommendation: Update linking strategy throughout the website to not include exact match anchor text.

• Rationale: Exact match anchor text is a practice we are moving away from. Adding anchor text that is descriptive but not exact match can help with SEO and usability purposes.

North Carolina Bar Association National Association of Criminal Defense Lawyers Board Certified Specialist | North Carolina State Bar