Practicing For Over 30 Years With
Free Initial Consultation

What you should know about drug schedules

On Behalf of | Jun 27, 2023 | Drug charges

The consequences of illegal drug possession could be incarceration, fines and a criminal record. Yet some drugs are legal, and not all illegal drugs are equal in the eyes of the law.

The penalties, if convicted of a drug crime, can vary in accordance with the classification of substances found in possession. There are five different drug classifications called schedules. A schedule controls the severity of drug abuse and dependence. Here’s what you should know:

Schedule I drugs

Schedule I is the highest classification a medication can receive. LSD, peyote, and heroin are examples of the kind of narcotics that aren’t available to the general public lawfully. Schedule I drugs are highly addictive and frequently cause abuse as well as physical and mental dependence.

Schedule II drugs

Drugs under Schedule II have a lower risk of misuse and dependence than those in Schedule I, although not by much. Cocaine, oxycodone, and fentanyl are classified as Schedule II substances. Doctors and nurses are able to deliver some of these medications.

Schedule III drugs

In comparison to Schedule II medicines, Schedule III substances have a somewhat lower risk of abuse. Physical and physiological dependency is rare with medications under Schedule III. These medications, including ketamine and testosterone, may be given by a physician.

Schedule IV drugs

Xanax, Valium, and Ambien are examples of Schedule IV pharmaceuticals. They frequently come from doctors and offer little potential for misuse.

Schedule V drugs

Most people can buy Schedule V drugs over the counter and expect little to no long-term dependency.

There’s a lot to learn if facing drug charges, and you may want legal help to do so.